News Update

CBI registers case against Netherlands-based Ballarpur International Holdings for Rs 151 Cr bank fraudSinking birth rate - China allows students a week off to ‘fall in love’Strong thunderstorms kill 22 and rip off houses in 8 of Central US StatesWB Chief worries over rising Chinese loans to AfricaUkraine scoffs at Russia assuming presidency of Security CouncilUS smackdown with crypto industry helping HK welcome them with open armsGST - March collections peak to Rs 1.6 lakh croreIndia’s defence exports peak close to Rs 16,000 CroreGoogle upgrading Bard to compete with ChatGPTCOVID surges back; 2994 cases reported in 24 hoursEven after being fined, Delhi CM again asks for details of PM’s degreesCus - CESTAT's reasoning and conclusion that LCD panels [used in TV sets; Audio systems in automobiles] are classifiable under CTH 9013.8010 is sound and unexceptionable: SCGovt’s debt grows by 2.6% in Q3 of FY 2022-23CX - Once the order-in-original sanctioning refund came to be set aside in a proceeding u/s 35E, there is no question of any further notice u/s 11A: SCGST - Amendment to Rule 89(4)(C) of CGST Rules is illegal, arbitrary, unreasonable, irrational, unfair, unjust & ultra vires Section 16 of IGST Act & Section 54 of CGST Act as well as Articles 14 & 19 of Constitution; hence merits being quashed: HCST - Re-insurance does not cover the risk to the asset; is not excluded from the definition of 'input service': HCCBDT inks 95 Advance Pricing Agreements in FY 2022-23I-T - Addition made w.r.t. profits from diamond purchases is upheld, where assessee is not shown to have sufficient bank balance to purchase diamonds & is unable to explain how such purchases were made: ITATGovt culls Rs 17.3 lakh crore tax revenue net to Centre by Feb-endScindia inaugurates direct flight between Indore and SharjahIndian exports eyeing USD 2 trillion target by 2030: GoyalCus - Merely because appellant has been issued a License by Drugs & Cosmetics Act, it cannot be said that Saccharomyces Boulardii are known and understood as medicine, same are to be classified under Chapter 21: CESTATWith Presidential assent, Finance Act 2023 gets enacted w.e.f April 01, 2023Italy bans AI-driven bot ChatGPTPowerful tornado hits Arkansas; Central US gears up for aggressive weatherKozhikode Airport Customs seizes gold worth Rs 2 CroreManish Sisodia again denied bail; Nothing wrong in arrest warrant found
Action Plan for 'Year of Tourism Development in SCO Space in 2023' adopted

By TIOL News Service

NEW DELHI, MAR 18, 2023: G Kishan Reddy, Minister for Tourism, Culture and Development of North Eastern Region, Government of India chaired the Meeting of Heads of Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Tourism Administrations held in 'Kashi' (Varanasi) on 17th March 2023.

The meeting was attended by H.E. Yerzhan Yerkinbayev, Vice Minister of Culture and Sports, Government of the Republic of Kazakhstan, H.E. Lu Ying Chuan, Deputy Minister of Culture and Tourism, Government of Republic of China, H.E. Samat Bekturovich Shatmanov, Deputy Minister of Culture, Information, Sports and Youth Policy, Government of Kyrgyz Republic and H.E. Azamov Ulugbek Axmatovich, First Deputy Minister of Culture and Tourism, Government of Republic of Uzbekistan in person and through online mode by H.E. Vladimir Evgenyvich Ilyichev, Deputy Minister, Ministry of Economic Development, Federation of Russia, H.E. Muminzod Kamoliddin, Chairman of the Tourism Development Committee, Government of the Republic of Tajikistan and H.E. Aun Chaudhry, Advisor to the Prime Minister on Tourism and Sports, Government of Islamic Republic of Pakistan. The meeting was also attended by Senior Officials from Departments of Tourism from the SCO member countries, Representatives from Secretariat of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation, Ministry of Tourism and Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India.

The SCO Tourism Ministers finalised and approved the Joint Action Plan prepared for implementing the Agreement between the Governments of the SCO Member States on the Development of Cooperation in Tourism. The approved Joint Action Plan has the following prioritised components -

- Promotion of the SCO tourism brand.

- Promotion of the cultural heritage of the SCO Member States in tourism.

- Sharing and Exchange of information and digital technologies in tourism.

- Promotion of mutual cooperation in medical and health tourism.

- Improving the quality of services.

As per the agreed Joint Action Plan, the member countries will undertake various activities such as SCO tourism exhibition, SCO Food Festival, Webinar & Seminar on tourism, conference and expert session on promotion and development of tourism in the region.

The meeting also adopted the Action Plan for "Year of Tourism Development in the SCO Space in 2023." This document identified a list of activities and events to promote and showcase Tourism products of SCO member States.

A Joint Statement by the Head of the Tourism Administrations of the SCO member countries was also issued post the meeting. The Meeting of Heads of SCO Tourism Administrations was preceded by two Expert Working Group (EWG) meetings held under the Chairmanship of India. The 1 st EWG meeting was held online on 31.01.2023 whereas the 2 nd meeting of the EWG was held in physical mode on 14th -15th March 2023 in 'Kashi' (Varanasi).

'Kashi' has been declared as the First Tourism & Cultural Capital of SCO. This recognition will bring the city to a greater prominence in the global tourist map. The initiative will garner more attention by highlighting the spiritualism, mysticism, learning of Kashi which is also the cradle of Indian civilization. The next meeting of the SCO Heads of Tourism Administrations will be held in Kazakhstan in 2024.

Four bilateral meetings of India with China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz Republic and Uzbekistan were also held on the sidelines of the Meeting of the Heads of SCO Tourism administrations.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is an intergovernmental organization founded on 15 June 2001 in Shanghai. The SCO currently comprises Eight Member States (China, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan).